toe loop and salchow

i have been attempting a toe loop jump since the 3rd month of skating… as soon as i got my waltz jump.

I gave up when i realise that my backward edges are not good enough( impossible to get the toe pick leg crossed). after some months of practise, i finally managed to do some toe loops last night! I was concerned that its a toe waltz, but my buddy said i only pre-rotated a little bit! thats such a joy to know!

salchow, on the other hand, isnt going too successful for me.  i can hold the backward inside edge but i dont know where i get the power to take off to the jump. I know the theory but my body wont do it. apparently salchow supposed to be much easier than toe loop but for me thats certainly not the case!

there were at least 200 people on the rink yesterday, not the most plesant day to practice, but im glad i attempted toe loop. now im too excited to move onto the next jump. screw salchow if i cant get it, i’ll try loop first :p

a bit of update on my waltz jump, a while ago i was complaining that i cant do a backward to foward transition befor ethe jump, that has been sorted after following mr c’s instruction, i have also been able to hold the outside edge glide after the transition. what i need to work on for this jump is to rotate in the air, mr c’s advise helped trememdously, he asked me to rotate my shoulders, that really helped me getting the full waltz jujp rotation! the problem though, im not really jumping off my toe pick, actually scared to do that because that would mean i have to jump at perfect timing as i literally stumble on my toe pick in order for the jump to happen! need to work on that more ( or i can just ignore it and move on…)

toe loop and salchow

Leave a comment